Nubs

636.7 DEN

browse shelf >>

Nubs : a mutt, a Marine & a miracle

Dennis, Brian, 1971-

New York : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, c2009.

p. cm.

Rate this title or write a review

Major Dennis first met Nubs, a German Shepherd-Border Collie Mix and the leader of a pack of desert dogs, while patrolling one of the Iraqi border forts. Eventually, Dennis and Nubs formed a bond, strengthened by the fact that Dennis nurtured the dog back to health after a near fatal injury. When Brian's team relocated a full seventy miles away, he received an unlikely visitor: Nubs. Miraculously, the dog had trekked solo through below-freezing desert temperatures to find his favorite marine. With an outpouring of help from family and friends, Dennis raised enough money to transport Nubs back to San Diego, where the dog now has a permanent home- with Dennis. In the tradition of Own & Mzee, this remarkable photographic picture book documents Nubs's amazing journey, primarily through the lens of Dennis's camera. Although this story is set against a wartime backdrop, it focuses on the incredible bond between Major Dennis and his friend Nubs.

Accelerated Reader: Level 4.8 LG / 0.5 Points / Test #131872

Available

RegularRegular

2 copies available at Christian Heritage School

Field Ind Subfield Data
001 Control No     9110
005 LastTransaction     20180319135918.0
008 Data Elements     100329s2009 j 000 0 eng u
010 LCCN   $a Record content licensor  20-09003808
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  978-0-316-05318-1
035 System Ctrl No   $a System control number  :::00010387$&:&B@
040 Cataloging Src   $a Original cataloging agency  DLC
100 ME:PersonalName 1   $a Personal name  Dennis, Brian, 1971-
245 Title 10  $a Title  Nubs :
    $b Remainder of title  a mutt, a Marine & a miracle /
    $c Statement of responsibility  by Brian Dennis, Kirby Larson, and Mary Nethery.
260 PublicationInfo   $a Place of publication, dist.  New York :
    $b Name of publisher, dist, etc  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers,
    $c Date of publication, dist, etc  c2009.
300 Physical Desc   $a Extent  p. cm.
526 Study Program   $a Program name  Accelerated Reader
    $b Interest level  LG
    $c Reading level  4.8
    $d Title point value  0.5
526 Study Program   $a Program name  Accelerated Reader
    $b Interest level  LG
    $c Reading level  4.8
    $d Title point value  0.5
    $z Public note  Test #131872
    $5 Institution  CHS.
650 Subj:Topic   $a Topical term  Dog owners
    $x General subdivision  California
    $x General subdivision  Juvenile literature.
650 Subj:Topic   $a Topical term  Dogs
    $x General subdivision  Iraq
    $x General subdivision  Juvenile literature.
650 Subj:Topic   $a Topical term  Iraq War, 2003- Personal narratives, American
    $x General subdivision  Juvenile literature.
700 AE:PersName   $a Personal name  Larson, Kirby.
700 AE:PersName   $a Personal name  Nethery, Mary.
852 Holdings 1   $a Location  CHS
    $h Classification part  636.7 DEN
    $i Item part  DEN
    $p Barcode  10387
    $9 Cost  $15.00
852 Holdings   $a Location  CHS
    $h Classification part  636.7 DEN
    $p Barcode  14593
    $9 Cost  $15.00

Editorial Reviews

Google Books Preview

preview